The age of time wasting

Ok. You might call me a hypocrite. After all, here I am writing this post, when I could be reading a nice book, hearing a nice song or watching crap on TV. Or watching my own bellybutton. Who knows, I could even be having real interaction with people, or volunteering for a good cause.

We live, however, in the age of time wasting. And people say they are bored all the time. I don’t get it.

That is, I suppose, because technology has made us privy to knowing how hundreds or thousands of people are doing, reading pretentious silly things on twitter, or finding out what is going on around the world almost on real time. So, in a very short period of time we have become spoiled by the onslaught of millions of pieces of information. When we are not absorbing things, often listening to the TV while texting or facebooking, we become immediately bored.

And most of the time we are doing a lot of that stuff, we are really wasting time, no more, no less.

There are more severe cases of wasting time. I noticed, for instance, that people spend inordinate amounts of time posting things on facebook, whether pictures or text. They stand to gain little or nothing from it. Ok, you might say, “you are a greedy dude, Jonas” why do you have to make something all the time?

I am not saying money, so don’t go the greed path.

Unless you are a celebrity, very few people really read what you write on FB, irrespective of how many friends you have. And in a matter of minutes, seconds, whatever you wrote becomes part of cyberhistory. And you are as lonely as you were before you wrote your self-styled stroke of genius.

If you want your thoughts be known, may as well write a blog (for free, by the way), then publish it on Facebook and twitter, if you must. With twitter at least the posts make into google. In FB, it stays in, and the only one taking advantage of your productivity (for the lack of a better word) is Facebook itself. Yes, you just become a writer of content for Facebook, in exchange for a couple of likes, while they collect the dough on your back. A Facebook slave, only they don’t even feed you or provide shelter, which even the worst slave master did!

So, the choice is yours. Do you want to waste your time, fine. But if you really believe you have something useful to say, don’t spent the rest of your days on Earth facebooking. Give it to the world!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Igreja Brasileira em Miami

It is OK if you don't agree with me, I don't agree with you either

Otto O`Over

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

It is OK if you don't agree with me, I don't agree with you either

Portuguese Translations

It is OK if you don't agree with me, I don't agree with you either

Legal Translation Systems

It is OK if you don't agree with me, I don't agree with you either

Blog do Julio Cesar Borisck

Umas poucas e boas

Thadeus

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Joseph Sala Gor

A little bit of everything except sex

Johnny Calpist, 60s to 80s rock

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Henri Bodus

Society's woes and hoes

Jonathan Berbe's blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Miami Beach Problems, and other stuff

It is OK if you don't agree with me, I don't agree with you either

Fotografias de Automobilismo/Racing Photographs

It is OK if you don't agree with me, I don't agree with you either

Bolto Noro

A topnotch WordPress.com site

